Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

                                                                                                                                                                   return to latest news

Dinas entertained Section 4 winners Loughor BC, in the first knock out round of the 2015 Carruthers Shield and emerged triumphant following a comfortable 94-57, 37 shot victory. This was a reversal of last years first round tie, a fixture Dinas also won.

In glorious summer weather Dinas started well and after seven ends had established a 15 shot lead, due largely to Chris Blake's four, who found rink two to their liking, picking up a five and six to jump 16-6 in front.

It was however through the next seven ends that Dinas really took a firm grip on proceedings. Blake's rink continued in the ascendency, picking up a further 12 shots to their opponents one, to lead 28-7. Meanwhile Ritchie Janes' rink had a 'red hot' streak, scoring 21 shots including a seven, as they moved from 7-3 to 28-5 ahead. With Alex Meddins rink also six shots in front Dinas now stood 43 shots to the good having outscored their opponents 42-14 over the middle seven ends to take effectively take control of the tie.

Over the remaining ends, Meddins rink, who had been ahead throughout, dropped a five on the penultimate end to go one behind, only to recover on the last end and tie their rink 19 apiece.  Conversely, Mike Ackland's rink, who had trailed all afternoon, picked up a three and two on the last two ends to pip their opponents 14-13 in a low scoring encounter on Rink 1.

All in all a very satisfactory afternoon for Captain Dave Parker and his men, who now face a trip to Skewen in Round 2 of the competition with that fixture to be played on Saturday July 4th.

J.Coles, D.Vowles, C.Ackland, R.Janes  (31-10)                                                D.Parker, P.Marks, A.Hodges, C.Blake  (30-15)                 J.Ackland, T.Hurcom, H.Meddins, M.Ackland  (14-13)                                       M.Gershenson, A.Harvey, P.Critcher, A.Meddins (19-19)