Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

                                                                                                                                                               return to archive

Dinas Powis brought their season to a fine end on Sunday 14th September as they lifted the Alun Martin Memorial Cup, for the first time in 14 years.

This two rink competition, competed for by all 15 South Vale District clubs, is named in honour of the late Alun Martin, who had a long and distinguished association with Dinas Powis Bowling Club.

Led by this seasons Club Captain, Tim Hurcom, the team had previously defeated Sully, Cadoxton and Penarth Windsor, winning all six rinks, before arriving at the final, where they faced Millwood Bowling Club, at the neutral Penarth Windsor rink.

The Dinas rink of Joe Coles, Jonathon Ackland, Paul Marks and Ritchie Janes started in a positive and confident fashion and quickly established a six shot advantage after five ends. Thereafter they continued to maintain a very firm grip on proceedings and, by the time they'd picked up a very solid six, on the 14th end, they had extended their advantage to an unassailable 17 shots, at 22-5.

The second Dinas quartet, of Andy Locker, Chris Scott, Tim Hurcom and skip Gareth Griffiths were engaged in a much closer run affair, and indeed the front three were indebted to their skip Griffiths for rescuing them on a number of occasions. That said, after the 14th end they too had moved in front, by four shots, 12-8.

Being in such a commanding position, Dinas were happy at this stage, to play out the final ends without too much discomfort, and whilst Millwood did narrow the gap, indeed forcing a 17-17 draw on Griffith's rink, they closed the game out with a 10 shot advantage, with one end still to play on Ritchie Janes rink.   

After the match Club Captain Tim Hurcom was delighted to receive the Cup from Alun's family, wife Marion and son's Chris and Jeff who had once again attended the final.

A smashing way to bring the curtain down on the 2014 outdoor season.

J.Coles, J.Ackland, P.Marks, R.Janes  (23-13)                                        A.Locker, C.Scott, T.Hurcom, G.Griffiths  (17-17)